This is one of those cases where I completely forgot that I had an account, and now it has been compromised. I'm scratching my head wondering what information/password I had associated with it.
Makes a case for actively destroying accounts on services that you're no longer planning on using.
Preferably both. Not sharing passwords is the obvious one, but if I stop using something I'd like to be able to delete everything related to me (except perhaps logfiles or whatever else needs to be retained for operational reasons up to a few weeks). And without having to call someone on the phone please or email support@ please.
Makes a case for actively destroying accounts on services that you're no longer planning on using.